first_imgOnce again this spring, Harvard degree holders will have the opportunity to vote for new members of the Harvard Board of Overseers and elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA).The elections will begin on April 1. As in 2019, eligible voters will have the option of voting either by traditional paper ballot or online. Completed ballots must be received by 5 p.m. (EDT) on May 19. All holders of Harvard degrees, except officers of instruction and government at Harvard and members of the Harvard Corporation, are entitled to vote for Overseer candidates. All Harvard degree holders may vote for HAA elected directors.The candidates listed below — eight for five anticipated vacancies on the Board of Overseers, and nine for six HAA elected director positions — have emerged from this fall’s deliberations of the HAA nominating committee. The committee’s voting members include three current or recent Overseers as well as 10 Harvard alumni of varied backgrounds and experience who are appointed by the HAA executive committee. Through its deliberations extending over the fall, the nominating committee reviewed approximately 300 individuals proposed for inclusion on the Overseers ballot and approximately 200 individuals proposed for inclusion on the ballot for HAA elected directors.Candidates for Overseer may also be nominated by petition — that is, by obtaining a required number of signatures from eligible voters. The deadline for all petitions is Feb. 1. Eligible voters may go to for more information.The Board of Overseers is one of Harvard’s two governing boards, the other being the President and Fellows, also known as the Corporation. Drawing on the diverse experience and expertise of its members, the Board of Overseers exerts broad influence over the University’s strategic directions, provides essential counsel to the University’s leadership on priorities and plans, and has the power of consent to certain actions, such as the election of Corporation members. The Board also directs the visitation process, the principal means for external review of the quality and direction of Harvard’s Schools and departments. The current membership of the board is listed here.The HAA nominating committee has proposed the following Overseer candidates for the 2020 election:Raphael William Bostic ’87, magna cum laudePh.D. ’95, Stanford UniversityPresident and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of AtlantaDecatur, Ga.Katherine Collins, M.T.S. ’11B.A. ’90, Wellesley CollegeHead of sustainable investing, portfolio manager of the Putnam Sustainable Future Fund and the Putnam Sustainable Leaders Fund, Putnam InvestmentsBostonDavid H. Eun ’89, magna cum laude, J.D. ’93Chief innovation officer, Samsung Electronics, and president, Samsung NEXTNew York, N.Y.Susan Morris Novick ’85, magna cum laude Senior vice president, Merrill Lynch; freelance journalist, The New York TimesOld Westbury, N.Y.Diego A. Rodriguez, M.B.A. ’01   B.A./B.S. ’93, Stanford UniversityExecutive vice president, chief product and design officer, Intuit Inc.Palo Alto, Calif.Tracy K. Smith ’94, cum laudeM.F.A. ’97, Columbia UniversityChair of the Lewis Center for the Arts, Berlind Professor of the Humanities, Princeton University; 22nd poet laureate of the United StatesPrinceton, N.J.Miki Uchida Tsusaka ’84, magna cum laude, M.B.A. ’88 Managing director and senior partner, Boston Consulting GroupTokyoRyan Wise, Ed.L.D. ’13B.A. ’98, Creighton University; M.P.A. ’08, University of Nebraska OmahaDirector, Iowa Department of Education; dean-designate, Drake University School of EducationDes Moines, IowaBoth Diego Rodriguez (since 2018) and Ryan Wise (since 2019) are current members of the Board of Overseers, completing unexpired terms of Overseers who concluded their service early.The HAA Board of Directors is an advisory board that actively works to support Harvard alumni volunteers working on behalf of the HAA. The main work of the board focuses on developing volunteer leadership and increasing and deepening alumni engagement through an array of programs that support alumni communities worldwide. In recent years, the board’s priorities have been strengthening outreach to recent graduates; connection to graduate school students and alumni; public and community service; and alumni access to intellectual content.The HAA nominating committee has proposed the following elected director candidates for the 2020 election:Santiago Creuheras, A.L.M. ’00, A.L.M. ’01, C.S.S. ’01B.S. ’97, Universidad de las Américas-Puebla; M.St. ’14, University of CambridgeSenior consultant on sustainable infrastructure and energy, Inter-American Development BankMexico City, Mexico Kelsey Trey Leonard ’10M.Sc. ’11, University of Oxford; J.D. ’15, Duquesne University; Ph.D. ’19, McMaster UniversityBanting Postdoctoral Fellow, McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario, CanadaMichael D. Lewis ’93Strategic technology adviser, iCorps TechnologiesCambridge, Mass.Mallika J. Marshall ’92, cum laudeM.D. ’96, UCSF School of MedicineMedical reporter, CBS Boston; physician, Massachusetts General HospitalWeston, Mass.David R. Scherer ’93, cum laudeM.B.A. ’14, University of ChicagoCEO and principal, Origin Investments; co-founder, One Million DegreesChicagoSajida H. Shroff, Ed.M. ’95B.A. ’90, B.Ed. ’93, University of British Columbia; M.B.A. ’04, Emory UniversityCEO, Altamont GroupDubai, United Arab EmiratesBenjamin D. Wei ’08CEO, Nova InviteNew York, N.Y.Joyce Y. Zhang ’09M.P.A. ’15, Princeton University; M.B.A. ’15, Stanford UniversityCEO, Alariss GlobalSan FranciscoVanessa Zoltan, M.Div. ’15B.A. ’04, Washington University in St. Louis; M.S. ’09, University of PennsylvaniaCo-founder and CEO, Not Sorry ProductionsMedford, Mass.last_img

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *